Archive for January 28th, 2010




This is week 2, ain’t it?

I really enjoyed reading what she had to say about the word ain’t.  To begin, like Grammar Girl, I too cringe when I hear people use the word ain’t.  To be honest, I hear the word used frequently by my own extended family.  Before the blog, I thought it was not proper and tried not to use it, even in a joking manner.  Apparently, I was both right and wrong. I learned it is only appropriate to use in dialogue or when trying to convey a specific tone.  I also thought that “aren’t I” would be the correct alternative, but I was wrong again! It is like many other phrases that may sound better, but are grammatically incorrect.  I love when she said,

“Treat it like spicy mustard; don’t make a whole sandwich from it.”

if ain’t was used all the time in dialogue I would go crazy.  I need to learn more about simplifying my writing and cutting out the unnecessary words that I frequently use.

Readings from:http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/is-aint-a-word.aspx

1 comment January 28, 2010

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Posts by Month

Posts by Category