10 Tips to Bloggers :)

April 26, 2010 hkbarnes

  1. Stay on top of assignments: It is very easy to get behind.  Set aside time every week to do your blog.  Once you get into a rhythm it will be easier.
  2. Follow other blogs like yours: It is important to know what other people like you are posting about, especially if its for a class like this one.  This way you are able to gauge how well you are doing compared to others.  Be careful not to steal ideas.
  3. Follow others: Prior to starting my own blog, I followed a random blogger, Literally, Genevieve Clare.  It is good to follow blogs that have zero relevance to your  blog.  It is a good way to refresh yourself and it might help inspire you to make your blog great too.  I suggest one that is either humorous or on a topic that you are passionate about.  This way you will want to follow and keep checking in.
  4. Spelling and Grammar: Just because a blog is not formal does not mean spelling can be ignored.  If you have bad spelling and grammar don’t expect people to take what you have to say seriously or want to read your blog at all.. If someone knows you don’t pay attention to spelling and grammar you will probably lose credibility with them.
  5. Blog on the mind: At the beginning of the semester I made began making a conscious to think about my blog on a daily basis (or at least try to).  This way you are more aware of things in every day that would make a good blog topic.  It also helps you seek out things that will inspire blog topics too.  Several times I found myself thinking “Hmm I think I will blog about this.”
  6. Keep it interesting: No one wants to read a boring blog.  Yes, I realize that certain aspects of the blogs for this class for tedious or mundane, but still try to make it interesting.  We all are PR majors and one day it might be our jobs to make the boring, exciting so here is the opportunity to practice.
  7. Don’t copy other people’s blogs: I read a rant on the blog I follow about how people are copying her blog and it was not cool.  Think of it as plagiarism.  If you want post about something you saw on another blog that’s fine, but not copy everything that blogger does.  If you need to copy someone else’s blog, you probably shouldn’t have a blog anyways.
  8. Blogging can be fun: Remember keeping a blog and posting on it can be fun.  Don’t look at it as an assignment, but more like one more form of social media you can conquer.  If you are having fun it will shine through in the blog.
  9. Cite your sources: Remember to credit where it is due.  People take the time to post things or work hard on the websites. Do not republish something without citing the source.
  10. Include multimedia: Video and picture are important in blogging.  No one wants to read just text.  Studies show that it take people longer to read text on a computer screen and prefer video and images to help.  Imbed videos and pictures or provide links to them.  Multimedia enhances a blog and without it would be very boring and would in turn not have a strong following.
Entry Filed under: PRCA 3330-topic of the week,Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lindsayaddison  |  April 27, 2010 at 1:38 am

    Haley,
    You made a great top 10 list for bloggers! I wish that we could’ve read list like this before we starting blogging because I think it would’ve made things much easier! I have starting following many different blogs that relate to things that I like such as cooking, how decorating, and craft ideas! There is no better way to get a good idea than to see other wonderful ideas people have come up with and then make your own! Also, I do think it is important to have fun with your blog…make it interesting so others will actually want to come back and read what you have to say. It’s hard enough to get people to find your blog unless you tell others about it…so why not make it interesting so people will come and stay! And maybe even comment!

  • 2. Chris Yates  |  April 27, 2010 at 2:08 am

    Great list! Lots of good ideas and very thorough. I especially like #7. I would be furious if I knew that someone was copying my work without my permission. That’s really the cardinal rule for academics, and in the professional world, it can get you fired. If you find something cool on someone else’s blog that you want to use or write about, why not contact them and ask their permission? It’s the right thing to do and it even helps your own networking and communication skills. And you’re right, blogging can be fun so it’s important to keep a good attitude and avoid negativity (unless you’re blasting the state legislature for education budget cuts!)

  • 3. annalg  |  April 28, 2010 at 6:54 am

    Great list Haley! I love that you haven’t just given the facts but made your list personable. That is a key factor in writing a blog.
    I agree with Chris in saying that I would be furious if I found out that someone was posting my information without giving me create. I have a new-found appreciation for people who blog daily (and for copy writing). I don’t even think that I am that good of a “blogger” and this blogging assignment has been a lot of work. Professionals who post and are followed by hundreds of people really have to be on top of their game since other professionals know all the rules of blogging also.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
