Phil Says Thanks in His Own Way

April 19, 2010 hkbarnes

Phil in the Zone

Well Played Phil!

This story showed up on the news feed for my email at att.net and it touched my heart so much, I book marked it because I loved it so and now weeks later I have realized I can use it for my blog.

The weekend before the Masters (yes there are other golf tournament besides the Masters people) Phil Mickelson pulled what a I would consider a stellar PR move and  heart-warming act of kindness.  He let his wife and mother’s oncologist caddy a few holes for him during the Shell Houston Open.  For those who don’t know, both his wife and mother are battling cancer and are receiving treatment in Houston.  This gesture was very sweet and looked great from a PR perspective too.  It continues to show Phil as a loving, family man, who is is merely saying thanks to the man is trying to save the lives of these two women.

The last line of the article truly makes me smile.

“Nice move from Mickelson. If the Gods of Augusta respect karma, Lefty’s going in with a little extra bump.”

I’d say he had a huge bump 🙂

Entry Filed under: PRCA 3330-PR connections

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate Kavanagh  |  April 20, 2010 at 6:49 am

    Your blog caught my attention first because it is the same background and layout as mine! Secondly this post stood out to me because I am a huge fan of golf and have been playing for fun since I was young. I am not too good but my family is always at the golf course or has it on the television. I have always liked to watch Phil in the tournaments and always cheered for him. I had always heard from people that he was a polite and caring person, but when I saw this at the Shell Houston Open it was the actual was the proof. Glad this caught your eye as well!!

  • 2. Blog Comments – PR &hellip  |  April 20, 2010 at 6:51 am

    […] Phil Says Thanks In His Own Way Blog Comment […]

  • 3. lindsayaddison  |  April 24, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Haley, I really enjoyed reading this post because I too love Phil! Considering I date a golfer, I am usually watching any tournament that is on TV, and I always end up cheering for Phil. It is so sad that not only his mom but his wife has cancer. I cannot even imagine what he is going through, but he never shows his pain in the media. He is always so positive and willing to do anything for both of them. He is a true ‘gentleman’ and I hope that others look at this story and realize how great he is; not only on the golf course but in his daily life to.

  • 4. sarahgricius  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:05 am

    I can see how this gesture was a great and heart warming gesture on Mickelson’s part, it shows that he is serious about his profession but also is a family man that truly cares for them. Although it did seem kind of strange that he would let them caddy for him, which means they lugged all of bags around for a few holes, maybe that was always his wife’s and mother’s oncologist’s dream. And karma did do its job quite well for he won the Master’s, which shows that good guys come in FIRST not LAST. It seems like he is trying to do his best to show love for both his fans and his family, in the nicest way possible. He is a true role model to many different age groups, and I hope he continues to live this lifestyle and not turn into another Tiger Woods story.

    -Sarah Gricius


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
