NEWS! News! GET YOUR NEWS!!

February 20, 2010 hkbarnes

What is newsworthy to may is probably different than what others consider newsworthy. Things that are particularly newsworthy to me are sports and entertainment.  News that occurs in those areas attract my attention more than news about say the stock market.  My friends and I are constantly reading the entertainment magazines and online publications to learn the latest news and enjoy scooping one another on the latest.  I watch ESPN and read Sport Illustrated to get my sports fix. Loving and knowing about sports is a great discussion topic when meeting new people and makes me only pay attention the latest news more. When I look for hard news to read I go to the AJC and the major media outlets, CNN and Fox News.  I read the AJC because I like reading news that pertains to where I have grown up. Even national news they try to localize it.  It allows myself and other readers to relate to the topic better.  I scan CNN and Fox News for news that I find interesting or political topics that would affect me or the things I believe in.  I also get my news from my friends and family.  Its bad when my mother, my sister and I sometimes consider juicy gossip EXTREMELY newsworthy, but I think every female has been that  at some point.  A recent example of a local event being newsworthy to me occurred last week.  My best friend sent me an article from the Marietta Daily Journal that was about some people we knew and her mom knew getting caught for underage drinking.  To others it might have seemed like just another teenage rebellion article, but I found it interesting because of the people included in the story.

Entry Filed under: PRCA 3330-topic of the week

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chris Yates  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Determining what is newsworthy might seem like a difficult question at first, but once you realize what “newsworthy” means, it becomes a bit clearer. I’m much like you and your friends, I get my news from a variety of different sources. I like to know what’s going on in politics, sports, entertainment, etc. There’s just so much information out there though. I constantly come accross pieces of “news” that I deem to be garbage and a waste of time. But to others, the very same thing is newsworthy. So this is really the challenge for those who work with media, determining how to evolve with the trends and satisfy as many people as possible.

  • 2. Blog Comments « Chr&hellip  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    […] NEWS! News! GET YOUR NEWS!! by Haley Barnes:  https://hkbarnes.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/news-news-get-your-news/#comment-9 […]

  • 3. Caroline Rawlins  |  April 8, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I think that everyone has a varied idea about what they find as newsworthy. I am not so much a fan of sports but I do find my news on similar sites as you. I like to watch Fox and Friends in the morning and enjoy going online and searching for news also. I think that news websites are the way to go. It is so much easier to just log onto a website with so many other things we participate in like Facebook and Twitter online. It can kind of get confusing on figuring out what is really newsworthy with so many stories just being about celebrities and their lives, things that do not really have any effect on my life. I hope that the media will start focusing on newsworthy material.

  • 4. Caroline’s Comments&hellip  |  April 8, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    […] view the post. […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts

 
